My Beautiful Family

My Beautiful Family
Christmas time 2009

Thursday, January 28, 2010

Conductor or Insulator? Is that the question?


So we are on our way to school and we have one of those conversations. The one where Travis is being curious about something and wants me to explain. He ask me what those tall electric poll are made out of. I told him they were tall pine trees. He asked what was in the middle and I told him they were solid wood so he wanted to know how the electricity got to houses. I told him through those "breakers" and of course he corrected me and said they were called "transformers." Yeah, whatever! He said he thought electricity ran up through the electric poles. (My teacher voice starts here:) " No, honey wood is a insulator and electricity can't run through it." He said, "What did you say?" So I start explaining, " There are insulators and conductors and insulators keep electricity..." He told me to stop. He said, " When am I suppose to learn this?" I told him in 4th grade. He said, " Don't tell me then, this is the reason I am so smart. You have to tell me everything before I actually am suppose to learn it. Just let me learn it in 4th grade so I don't already know it before the teacher tells us about it." Sheesh! Fine! He's the one always wondering! These conversations occur regularly. But this is the first time he hasn't wanted me to tell him all about it or find a book to learn more. This is what it is like to be a teachers kid. Believe me I know, I was one! Everyday is a lesson! ;)
*** I totally mixed up the conductors and insulators on here. Just figured that out when I read it again today (2-9-10). Fixed it. Hope I didn't mix it up when I was telling Travis! hmmmmm?

Wednesday, January 27, 2010

O-M-G! What a time!!!

It's been a while, I know. I was so going to do this Monday or Tuesday but things got crazy. This weekend was great. Christie, Travis, and I went to explore Lake Catherine. Wow! Love it. We went on the Falls Trail where you go up to a waterfall. It was so pretty. Everything was wonderful, then the sky opened and it started to pour. We had to walk for about a mile in the rain. I felt like a kid again. It sucked but was also pretty fun at the same time. We are so going back this weekend with my camera! Sunday was spent planting my moms plants from her old house. She couldn't just leave them; they had to come too. And a total plus was that I got some more. Monday, I actually went running for the first time in forever. It felt so great hiking that I decided I would start running again. Well, it was so much colder than it was when we went hiking and I think my ears about froze off. I am still sore from that run but I think I will try again today but I'm going to let it warm up some. Maybe around noon. Oh and I got 15 applications sent off last week. So now I play the waiting game. I sure hope I can get a job in the hot springs area so I can still work at the YMCA. I really enjoy it there. So calm!

Yesterday, **** hit the fan! To fill you in a little. We have been waiting since Thanksgiving to get a water permit. No one wants to give us one. Someone from the state told my septic that it was approved, then the septic guy told my contractor, and he cleared the land and brought in the house. Still no sight of this water permit. Finally, I got tired of hearing "It's in the mail." Now seriously, don't tell a mailman that. He has eyes all around the dang post office. If it was in the mail, someone would have seen it. So I called the Malvern Health Department to find out that the State also failed to application for a water permit. WTH! So we have been waiting for well over a month for something that didn't freakin exsist. So now we have a house on our property that can't even be lived in because no one will give us water. This is ridicilous. So I called my contractor and told him in a round about "FRIENDLY" way that he better fix this and we will not be paying anymore money. Like my mom really wants to end her retirement in a lawsuit cause I was ready to call the lawyer. The contractor calls me back and tells me that they are putting in the more expensive (way more expensive) water treatment plant for us, and getting it all done on Friday. Yeah, I would love to see this. He is also suppose to be cutting my mom a check for rent since they have been having to pay rent for two extra months. And he is eating the difference. Hopefully, my prayers have been answered cause I was on my knees in prayer. For heavens sake, I just want my mom a house to retire and play in the flowers. Please, just give us water to use the toliet! Not funny really!

Anyways, as the world turns. We shall see the outcome to this soap opera! Plus the father had an episode yesterday to top the whole thing off and I thought my sister was going to have a nervous breakdown. Seriously, never ending! At least my homestead is calm, and I can thank Douglas Ray Barnett for that! LOVE MY HUSBAND...he is my worldly savior only second to my heavenly savior! ;)

Friday, January 22, 2010

My PRECIOUS lil boy


I thought I might have to kill my kid again this morning because he is up playing the computer, some game he is obsessed with these days. When I look at his homework folder and come to find out it is Friday. OH crap, Friday is always test day. And of course I haven't made sure he did any studying! By the time I come home from work, I have to cook, clean, and get everyone ready for bed. So I forget all about homework and stuff cause Doug usually makes sure he does his homework. That was done but he hadn't studied a lick! So I have to give him THE SPEECH again! "You aren't going to be able to stay a child forever. You will have to start being responsible for doing thing on your own and one of those things is STUDYING." Of course I hear the same ol, "Awww, I don't want to grow up." Who DOES? So he is reminded that God only had us be kids long enough to learn all the things we need to know to be GREAT adults. He hears this speech enough, why isn't he getting it?? Oh yeah, he's only 9. But I only have 9 more years to make sure he learns everything he knows to be a good man. Being a parent is stressful!


So he starts studying his spelling words, 10 minutes before we have to walk out the door. He can spell but he is going to do bad on this one cause they are a combination of compound words and hyphened and seperated words. He couldn't rememeber which was which. So I am sitting there freakin out on him when it is really all my fault cause I am not there in the afternoons with him to make sure he is doing his work. When I start stressing my blood pressure goes up and I start getting mad. Part of my anxiety problem and usually quit medicated for such things. So I stay pretty calm until he figures out he still has to study for his vocabulary test. OMG...the blood pressure just went through the roof. I am so mad right now I could probably spit bullets!!! He starts calling out definations and words when he says, " Something that you love and you keep close to you." or something to those words. Then he says, "Precious, Me, MOM, I'm precious to you." That was it. That is all it took. Anger gone for the heart and love has found it's way back in through my PRECIOUS lil boy!!! God is good! So I decided to not kill him this moring and let him live. Maybe he is a great manipulator, but who cares. He is still precious!!!

Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Not much to say...First time ever

The weekend has come and gone very quickly. I didn't work Monday cause of MLK day. The parents and I went to eat and sign more papers for their house. Then my sister and I went shopping for a book she really wanted. We ended up at Lowe's to look for floors and backsplashes and counter tops at her/my house. Travis had to go to school yesterday thus not having any african americans at his school. We picked Travis up at the bus stop, ran to walmart, and played at the neighbor's/brother-in-laws house. Then they came over for taco night. That about sums up my weekend/MLK day. Not very exciting but spent with family and that always makes me happy. Doug is feeling better today. Which makes me feel better. I still have applications to fill out but not feeling the need to get right on those. My sister bought the newest Van Alen Legacy: The Blue Bloods novel yesterday for her class. She said I could read it first so I fell OBLIGATED to read it quickly so I can return it to her. HA! Anything to put off those stinkin applications! Plus, I really need to be watching videos on AETN for get my 60 hours of professional development. Since I didn't teach this year, I am on my own! It will all get done, but AFTER my book! ;) Must get reading!

Friday, January 15, 2010

Procrastination Is My Middle Name

Instead of working on my applications, I chose to make my blog pretty. I don't know if you could call this procrastination or just chosing to do what I want to do and that is not applications. I have filled out all of the easy stuff like name, address, schools, jobs, blah blah blah. Now I have to do the dumb parts like why did I want to become a teacher or why do I want to teach at this school? The thing I don't understand is why they ask these same questions. Surely everyone's answers are the same. It's the answers the school wants to hear. So I guess I will mouth up some bs to write. The truth is of course we want to teach or we wouldnt have gone to school for it. The other truth is we want to teach in your district cause it is either in driving distance or it is just plainly a job. I honestly don't know if one school is better than the other until I am there. So!!! I'll do it later!


Travis is into this stuff called k'nex. My brother in law and him spent all day making this roller coaster. It was really awesome but contains over 2000 pieces. CRAZY. I DONT have the patience for all of that. Well they come with an instruction manual to make different things. The roller coaster makes another coaster like thing. He also go another box of k'nex that make 4 different things too. And last he got 4 small connect trucks that put together to make a monster truck. So that is fine and dandy. He is playing with it and reading the manual and says " I wonder if I can make up my own toy." Finally, imagination!
He has made two different "things." hmmmmm maybe he willl be an engineer??? And then the next weekend, Doug and Travis spent all weekend building a Lego car. That is their new hobby. They started it about a 3 years ago. (When Travis was old enough) And they have quite the selection. Doug is going to put them all on shelves for dispRemove Formatting from selectionlay in his man cave. Right now they are all in a kitchen cabinet.

I was just looking at his report card and see that his lowest A (93) is in reading. Of course! And his highest A (98) is in math. He absolutely loves math. From the time he was little we would be in the car and he would make up a math problem and ask me to solve it. No kidding. Now he is working on 6th grade math. We will be laying in bed and he will tell me he can't sleep cause he can't stop thinking about math problems. Seriously, what is wrong with my child? I never had that problem when I was trying to go to sleep!! Sheesh!


So I am playing the old mother's cupboard game called Clean out the pantry! Yeah, I've made up the game but my family knows exactly what it is when I say we are going to play it. It is when I use my imagination to use what we have to make a meal. Creative, huh. No, it's called learning to be without! Believe me it is not always good and usually isn't healthy (fried). Cause anything taste good fried, right? We had fried catfish and hushpuppies. I know I could have baked the dang fish but I hate baked fish. It is so slimmy. And the texture is too much for me. owwww. I have no idea what I am going to make today. I think some sort of noodle dish since I have noodles and sauce. But I have no hamburger meat so it will have to have chicken or something. Fish? J/K. To off balance the fried fish last night, I just had cottage cheese and crackers. I'm out of coffee and creamer so I will have to go to the store anyway. You don't want to see me without coffee!


We started a caffine experiment at school last night. We let all of our kids get a cup of coffee. Of course we jazzed it up with yummy creamer. So far it has worked with our add kids. We will continue the experiment until we can really tell if it makes a different and then we are giving our parents a written proof, that caffiene helps calm overstimulated children. I haven't been able to get any pic of my lil hispanics cause they have been gone but I did get a pic of Bri Bri! She reminds me of a lil Oprah. Too cute.

Thursday, January 14, 2010

Must Have Pretties

So I just got finished looking at one of my friends blog, Kristy. Her blog is so pretty and mine is NOT. I must work on that this weekend. I hear the house being delivered so I'm going to be nosey. I guess I better get dressed first. ha!
Peeking from my back porch (this is zoomed)

From the front street

Practice makes perfect...yeah...in a perfect world!!!




Well the job at Cutter Morning Star was already filled. BUT there is a job open at HOPE. OMG...and the husband wants me to apply. That is like an hour away...ONE WAY. He said that he enjoyed commuting for an hour when he had too. Well good for him. I'm sure I'm not going to enjoy it. The ride home, possibly. But I couldn't be on time for my own funeral so I can't see leaving an hour early for school. But I'm doing it anyway, for the family. Doug has been making sacifices for long enough. We have been making the bills and still have enough for food and gas and the essentials. But Doug is use to living on a $1000 cushion and this is freakin him out. Pay check to pay check is not cool to him. So I'm doing what is best for the marriage. Who knows I may not even get the job. Anyway, I am still applying EVERYWHERE for a teaching job next year. I have like 15 applications to fill out and send off in a packet. I hope to get these all done and sent off by tomorrow.

One of our kids got suppended from our program for a week for kicking Angela (the director) in the stomach and trying to push her down the stairs. Yeah, distrubing. But I am really getting a good lesson with these kind of kids. I feel like I have a better understanding of how to deal with them. The reality is...their life sucks and they deal with it with distrustive behavior. I pray for these kids that they are able to reach out of what they are in and better their life. That is why the YMCA is so important. It is an outlet to them. When they were asked to name 1 place they feel safe. Over half of them said the Y. Honestly, it is probably the only time they can relax! We are starting a Mentoring program soon with some of the troubled children and partnering them up with successful Minority Men and Women. It is going to be amazing.

Travis made the All A's Semester Honor Roll. He got a certificate. It made him feel really good. He has also started Hatchet and LOVES it. I knew he would but he never believes me when I suggest a book. I suggested the Hank The Cow Dog series and he love those. Don't ya know, parents are stupid. I talked with Doug about going to church and how guilty Ive been feeling and we are going to start Glen Rose Baptist again. They are getting a new preacher and I think it will be a fresh start. Travis already goes and has a lot of friends there so we might as well go and try to make some friends here. I know this is sad but I haven't really minded not having friends here. I guess cause my husband and sister are my best friends and I don't feel like I'm really missing out on anything.

My parent's house is supposed to be delieved and set up today. I'm excited. Hope it doesn't rain. They still have to get electric and water hooked up but that shouldn't take more than two weeks at the most. My parents have really tried to work on patience during this process. I still remember when we were building our house. I thought I was going to go crazy waiting on things. It is a true test of patience. I think I am still being tested. I guess I didn't learn my lesson.

Wednesday, January 13, 2010

Too little time

All I could think about on the way home from taking Travis to school, was coming home and getting to blog. I really think this is good for me. I am going to miss this me time I get in the mornings when I start teaching again so I need to enjoy it while it lasts. I found out that they are hiring at Cutter Morning Star for a 5th grade position. I'm P-4 but I will try for it today anyway. So that is my plans for the morning again. Get applications packets ready for all the schools in a 30 mile radius. You will not believe how many their are. There are over 20 schools (only counting Benton and Bryant as one each). So I am going to be very busy. I plan on getting my applications out to all schools by Friday. so the blogging will have to be short and sweet.

I'm am reading this book called A Picture of Freedom: The Diary of Clotee, a Slave Girl. I started reading it because it is the book I chose for my middle school class to read. We are studying biographies and doing a project to reflect. I have to tell you I am really enjoying this book. It is about a slave girl that learns to read and write by looking over the shoulder of the boy she is fanning. So she starts writing a journal to tell about here day to day experiences. This gave me the idea to start blogging. I would love to look back on this and reflect one day. The book takes place at Belmont Plantation, Virginia, 1859. It is really a good true story.

Also today I promised a parent that I would write down my food journal for her. She is starting adapex (sp?) and wants to start eating right but has no idea where to start. And since I pay my dietician good money to teach me these things, I told her I would help her out. First, her doctor told her to each less than 600 calories. CRAZY! He needs to be slapped. He obiously isn't a diet doctor because he should know that you should eat 12o0 calories even on a diet. So I told her I would get that ready before friday. Ugh. So much to do and so little time. Guess I shall get started with my routine, eat something and write out my journal. Oh and add Walmart to that list cause I have no black ink! Uhhhhhhh....Gotta Go!

Tuesday, January 12, 2010

Must job hunt but must blog first



I love my husband. I feel like I can't say that enough. He is really awesome. He is sick today and got up and went to work anyway. I mean sick, sick. He has this military attitude that you must keep going on even if you are sick as a dog. I swear he will end up dying on his mail route cause he went to work anyway...ugh! So we got new insurance. Suppose to be better. Like I didn't think anything got better than Federal BCBS but this new stuff is suppose to be cheaper. I can already get antibotics for a dollar. So I went to the doctor yesterday and hadn't lost any weight. Very depressing. She said that I was eating too fast, and too big of bites. I need to take at least 30 minutes to eat a meal and bites should be no bigger than my pinky. I don't know if you have ever tried to eat bites that small but it is soooo unsatisfying. You can't even taste what you are eating and very hard to chew. It's also really hard to take 30 minutes eating when your husband is done eating in 5. He says it is because he only had 5 min to eat in the Army. I swear food shouldn't be this complicated. Food is my worst enemy. During my life, I couldn't eat enough of it and then ended up eating too much of it. Damn you food! My head is just spinning thinking about it. Thank God for Meds!


Yeah, had a little bit of a break down on the phone yesterday when the husband tells me that our new insurance may not cover my meds and that I may have to switch. O-M-G. Switching meds is like torture. Let's just hope, for my family's sake, that my meds are covered. They totally keep me sane. Well, as sane as possible. Way more sane before meds came into the pic. That you Lord for creating the happy pill.


Speaking of the Lord. I have been feeling really guilty for not going to church these days. Ever since I moved to Glen Rose, we haven't gone to church. We have visited a few but I haven't liked any of them. I guess no one can live up to Gary Turner and his teachings. I still wonder why God took such a good man of Christ. There must have been something I didn't know about. And his family is so cursed. They are dealing with more sickness in the family and drama. So doug only has Sunday's off from work and he doesn't feel like getting up and going to church. Not that he wouldn't if I wanted him too, but I don't press it at all. I guess cause I am not too motivated myself. Hopefully, when momma gets up here I will be able to start going. I really want Travis in church. I was always there growing up and I know that strong christian value is what saved my life and I want that for Travis to fall back on when he needs it. That sounds bad, I really want him to live a christian life everyday of his life, but I'm not nieve to the fact that it may not happen. Ok...I don't want to think about that anymore.


So Travis wants to play professional football when he grows up. Of course he isn't designed physically to do this but ok. I know all little boys want these sort of things growing up but Travis is so capable of so much more. Oh and by the way...he is now excited about reading Hatchet.
I really need to be applying for teaching jobs. Yes, going back to teaching. I finally realized that is what I am suppose to do. It took taking a step back from it to realize this. so now I am hoping for a job. My sister said that one may be coming open in her little bitty school in Sparkman. A lady is retiring but she has a semester to make 28 but hasnt decided if she is coming back for that semester or calling it a day. I would love to teach there. Less that 15 kids, great staff, and principal. But I am still applying every else in a 30 mile ratios. Off to job hunt!

Monday, January 11, 2010

Just a little bit

I have about 30 minutes to kick back and release the demons before I have to go pay the water and turn in my new insurance card to the doc and pharm. ok...to start things off, for those that don't know me, WELL, just let me tell you a few important facts about myself that will make reading my blogs easier. 1. I am totally random. 2. I am suffering with Adult ADD. (which might explain #1 better.) 3. I can't spell worth a damn. (So please read between the lines). Those are the most important but not the only issues that explain me but I assure you those will come out in time.

I am extremely hungry and shaky at this point so I might be a little more random than normal. I go in for a fill ( that can be explained later) and can't eat today. I'm working as a reading specialist for the time being. Love my job, but hate the hours and the pay. Tonight I have my favorite two classes. The ESL kiddos. I will take a pics to display later cause you will have to see and know these kids so that I can take about them in the future. I love them like my own. I could seriously take them home and adopt them. They call me their English momma. So tonights work looks pleasant. Some of my kids are seriously, what should I call them, troubled kids. Love them too, but my heart hurts for them.

Finally, my parents are getting to move up to my land. They have gotton some family money and decided to retire this year and sell everything, buy a new doublewide, put it on my land and become full time grandparents. Of course this hasn't been as easy as it seems. Malvern Heath Department has a conparisary (sp?) with Glen Rose. They hate us. I think they just don't want people moving out here cause they are loosing so many people to this community. Whatever, so they wouldn't pass out sepetic system. Said our soil wasn't any good. BS! So we got the State in on it and finally, after a month, they approved our spetic. The land will be ready and the house is being delived on Wednesday. I'm very excited but now all I hear it the husband. woah woah woah. He says that it has never worked out with the inlaws living so close. (Knowing that they aren't that close. You can't even see them through our back yard) Marriages fail and blah blah blah. You have to know my husband. He's not really complaining he is just talking. He looks out our back windows and just sighs. As if my freakin parents are going to be staking us out with binoculars! Sheesh! Seriously, my parents could give a rats a**! As long as I am being takin care of, they are on his side. They always take his side, so what does he have to worry about. I think he is just worried that he won't be able to pee off the back porch anymore. Too bad...welcome to my world. Use the dang toliet. I swear, he will walk right past the bathroom to go pee out back. I don't get it...I really don't!

Ok. so that is what has been taking up a lot of my time these days. But I am really excited that Travis is getting his grandparents closer. On top of that, I have been painting and moving my sister into our rent house. Yes, the fam is closer. I wish my sister, Amy, from tx could move closer. Damn you Chris! Family is so important to me. I am loving living her ein the country in this small hick town, Glen Rose. It is so laid back. Benton, was so high strung! I got so overstimulated trying to keep up with everyone's drama. (Love my Benton Girls!) There is just no drama here; or aleast none that I know of. And please keep your drama to yourself!!!

I really need to go get the scarecrow, pumpkins and dead mums out of my front yard. They are so two months ago! I just can't stand the cold. I don't even want to go do anything outside. I still have halloween laterns on my house. At least I got my christmas tree down finally. Well, I did get sick the last part of vacation so that put a damper on things.

Let's talk about Travis. He made his AR goal this nine weeks even though I thought I was going to have to kill him to do this. Glen Rose does things so different from Benton so it is taking a lot of adjusting to get use to this school. Oh my part and his. For one, AR isn't for a grade. So why would kids want to read if they don't have to. Well that is the problem we are dealing with. He doesn't have to read books. It's really weird to me as a parent and as a teacher. But too bad for him, he has a teacher as a parentand I make him read anyway. I don't get why someone who can read so well doesn't enjoy reading. We were watching man vs. wild on tv last night and I told him that there is this book that he would love called Hatchet that is very similar to this. And he said that he would rather just watch it on tv. Damn, I think technology is screwing our brains. Oh well, he will be reading Hatchet next. Speaking bout books, I really want one of those electroic books, amazon kindles. But they are way too expensive right now. So Travis was placed in GT with 4th graders cause Glen Rose doesn't offer it until 4th grade. Travis started GT when he was in 2nd grade at Benton. So he has these project that are due next monday. We got the board game and the poster done but we still need to do the magazine article and the research paper. He is doing it on Travis Pastrana cause I told him he was named after him and now he thinks he is the coolest person on the planet. We just liked the name Travis. It helps that he is a motocross racer. Now that is cool!

Okay, I've got to get supper ready and in the frige for the husband to put in the oven tonight. Man, routine has changed cause of this jobs late hours but we are making it. Chow...(no pun intended). Ugghhhh...I'm so hungry. This might be hard preparing food hungry when you can't eat!!!

Yes. I've become a blogger!

Why not? Everyone else is doing it. I will become a follower of others. Not really sure if my life is exciting enough to put on hard drive but hey, it can release all the voices from my head. So starting today, I'm blogging.

Disclaimer: Things written here are not to be discussed during lunch breaks! If they amuse you, then good, maybe my life isn't so boring after all. If these are used out of context, I will be forced to take extreme measures ;)! Enjoy, and welcome into my life and my head!